Skip to main content

The 2017 Cronkite Awards and the State of the News Media

The 2017 Walter Cronkite Awards honoring excellence in television political journalism were presented at the National Press Club in Washington, D.C., on April 28, 2017. Among the recipients were the winners of the Brooks Jackson Prize for Fact-Checking Political Messages, named for the journalist who co-founded with Annenberg Public Policy Center (APPC) director Kathleen Hall Jamieson. The Cronkite-Jackson Prize, selected by a jury convened by the policy center, was presented to KUSA-TV in Denver (local award) and the E.W. Scripps Company (national award).

The Cronkite Awards are sponsored by the USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center and APPC.

Award-winners Jorge Ramos (Univision News and Fusion), Jake Tapper (CNN), Katy Tur (NBC News and MSNBC), and Brian Stelter (CNN), joined a panel moderated by Marty Kaplan, Director of the USC Annenberg Norman Lear Center, to discuss covering President Trump, the importance of accurate news reporting, and the impact of social media on journalism. Watch the panel’s discussion below.

The other honorees were KXAN-TV in Austin, Texas; WXIA in Atlanta, Ga.; Brandon Rittiman of KUSA-TV, Denver; Sabrina Ahmed of WOI in Ames, Iowa; Hearst Television; Marshall Zelinger and KMGH-TV in Denver; and KCETLink in Los Angeles. Read more about the honorees here.

Watch the video of the awards ceremony below.