Skip to main content

Roper Center Honors Jamieson with the 2022 Mitofsky Award

Kathleen Hall Jamieson, director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center and the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor at the Annenberg School for Communication, has been awarded the 2022 Warren J. Mitofsky Award for Excellence in Public Opinion Research by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson speaking at the Mitofsky Award dinner.
Kathleen Hall Jamieson at the Mitofsky Award dinner. Photo credit: Alex Slater.

At a Nov. 17, 2022, awards ceremony and dinner in Washington, D.C., Jamieson accepted the award, which honors individuals “who have made powerful contributions to the field of public opinion or survey methodology through published scholarship or distinguished practice.”

As the Roper Center said: “The 2022 Mitofsky Award is presented to Kathleen Hall Jamieson in recognition of her scholarly contributions to our understanding of public opinion and its interrelation with media in a range of contexts, from electoral choice to public health and, presciently, the public’s understanding of science and its importance.”

The award is named for Warren J. Mitofsky, an innovator in survey research and longtime chair of the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research board of directors.

Past winners of the award include Lawrence D. Bobo, the Dean of Social Science and the W. E. B. Du Bois Professor of the Social Sciences at Harvard University, and Karlyn Bowman, senior fellow at the American Enterprise Institute.

In announcing the award, the Roper Center also pointed to Jamieson’s long-standing research interest in the risk of misinformation in the media and its effects on American society. Her 1992 book “Dirty Politics” explored deceptive practices in political ads and speeches, and the way that inflammatory rhetoric succeeded in capturing media attention.

As a way to confront this deception, she co-founded the nonpartisan group in 2003 at the Annenberg Public Policy Center with journalist Brooks Jackson, with the support of philanthropists Walter and Leonore Annenberg.

Read more about Jamieson’s survey work and publications.

Annenberg grads at the Mitofsky dinner
Annenberg-affiliated attendees at the Mitofsky dinner. Front row left-to-right: Alex Slater, Jazmyne Sutton, Kathleen Hall Jamieson, Susan Sherr, Jeff Gottfried, and Andrew Daniller. Back row: David Dutwin, Michael X. Delli Carpini, Ken Winneg, and Shawn Patterson Jr.