Skip to main content

Kathleen Hall Jamieson Named to the 2021 Class of AAAS Fellows

Photo of Kathleen Hall Jamieson, named a AAAS fellow
Kathleen Hall Jamieson

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has named Kathleen Hall Jamieson, director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania, co-founder of, and professor at Penn’s Annenberg School for Communication, to its 2021 class of AAAS Fellows.

This year’s class is made up of 564 scientists, engineers, and innovators whose outstanding scientific contributions and achievements AAAS seeks to recognize. Jamieson, along with nine other scholars from the University of Pennsylvania, joins a cadre of honorees dating back to 1874.

The Penn honorees also include Annenberg School professor Duncan Watts, a computational social scientist and Penn Integrates Knowledge Professor with joint appointments in the School of Engineering and Applied Science and at Wharton.

The AAAS honored Jamieson “for her invaluable contributions to promoting factual discourse regarding public issues and developing the science of science communication,” according to a “member spotlight” profile of Jamieson discussing her work combating misinformation.

In 2020, Jamieson was honored with the National Academy of Sciences’ Public Welfare Medal and was named in 2021 to the NAS’s Strategic Council for Research Excellence, Integrity, and Trust. She has authored or co-authored 17 books, six of which have won awards. Most recently she co-authored “Creating Conspiracy Beliefs” (Oxford, 2021) with Dolores Albarracín and Man-pui Sally Chan of Penn and Julia Albarracín of Western Illinois University. Jamieson’s 2018 “Cyberwar: How Russian Hackers and Trolls Helped Elect a President” received the 2019 R.R. Hawkins Award from the Association of American Publishers. Jamieson is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Philosophical Society, the American Academy of Political and Social Science, and the International Communication Association, and a past president of the American Academy of Political and Social Science.

Read more about the new class of AAAS Fellows here.