We agree that expecting the U.S. Department of Homeland Security to report to more than 100 congressional committees, subcommittees and other groups is: "Duplicative and wasteful"

"Byzantine"2

"Antiquated"

"Balkanized and dysfunctional"4 A "failure"⁵

As a result,

"The nation is not as safe as it could and should be."

Congress oversees homeland security with a tangle of overlapping committees, leading to political paralysis and making our nation vulnerable to cyberthreats, biohazards, and small boats and planes carrying unknown cargo.

We endorse the recommendation made by the 9/11 Commission in 2004 and echoed by the Sunnylands–Aspen Institute Task Force in 2013.

CONGRESS SHOULD:

Cut the number of committees overseeing the Department of Homeland Security and consolidate primary oversight under one committee in the House and one in the Senate with coordinated jurisdiction.⁷

SECRETARIES, DEPT. OF HOMELAND SECURITY

Tom Ridge

Michael Chertoff (2005-2009)

Janet Napolitano (2009-2013)

9/11 COMMISSION

Thomas Kean Chairman

Lee Hamilton

Vice-chairman

Richard Ben-Veniste Member

Fred Fielding Member

Jamie Gorelick Member

Slade Gorton Member

Bob Kerrey

Member

John Lehman Member

Timothy Roemer Member

James Thompson Member

John Farmer Senior Counsel

OTHER SIGNATORIES

Arif Alikhan

Asst. Secretary for Policy Development, Dept. of Homeland Security (2009–2010)

Thad Allen

Admiral, USCG (Ret.); Commandant, U.S. Coast Guard (2006-2010)

Norm Augustine

Under Secretary of the Army (1975–1977); Member, Hart-Rudman Commission

Asst. Secretary for Policy, Dept. of Homeland Security (2005–2009)

Bradford Berenson

Assoc. Counsel to the President (2001–2003)

Howard Berman

Representative from California (1983–2013)

Steven Bradbury

Acting Asst. Attorney General, Dept. of Justice (2005–2007)

James Carafano

Member, Homeland Security Advisory Council

Frank Cilluffo

Director, Homeland Security Policy Institute, The George Washington University

Acting General Counsel, Dept. of Homeland

Security (2007–2009)

David Dreier

Representative from California (1981–2013)

Mohamed Elibiary

Senior Fellow, Homeland Security

Advisory Council

Director, Office of State and Local Government Coordination, Dept. of Homeland Security (2003–2005)

General Counsel, Dept. of Homeland

Security (2009–2012)

Dan Glickman

Secretary Dept. of Agriculture (1995-2001): Representative from Kansas (1977–1995)

Governor of Florida (1979–1987)

Senator from Colorado (1975–1987);

Senator from Florida (1987–2005);

Co-Chair, Hart-Rudman Commission

General, USAF (Ret.); Director, CIA (2006–2009); Director, NSA (1999–2005)

Chief of Staff, House Committee on

Homeland Security (2012–2014)

Bruce Hoffman

Professor, School of Foreign Service, Georgetown University

Michael Jackson

Deputy Secretary of Homeland

Security (2005-2007)

Daniel Kaniewski Special Asst. to the President for

Homeland Security (2007–2008)

Director, National Counterterrorism Center (2007–2011)

Carie Lemack

Director, Homeland Security Project, Bipartisan Policy Center

Admiral, USCG (Ret.); Deputy Secretary,

Dept. of Homeland Security (2003–2005) Iane Holl Lute Deputy Secretary, Dept. of Homeland

Security (2009–2013)

Walter McNeil President, International Association of

Chiefs of Police (2011–2012)

Richard Myers

General, \check{USAF} (Ret.); Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff (2001–2005)

Rick "Ozzie" Nelson

Director, Homeland Security and Counterterrorism Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies (2009-2013)

Leon E. Panetta

Secretary, Dept. of Defense (2011–2013); Director, CIA (2009–2011) Paul Rosenzweig

Professorial Lecturer in Law, The George Washington University

Paul Schneider

Deputy Secretary, Dept. of Homeland Security (2008–2009)

Ieffrey Smith

General Counsel, CIA (1995–1996)

Erroll G. Southers University of Southern California

Representative from Tennessee (1989–2011)

Lydia Waters Thomas Member, Homeland Security Advisory Council

Richard Thornburgh

Attorney General (1988–1991); Governor of Pennsylvania (1979-1987)

Frances Fragos Townsend Homeland Security Advisor (2003–2008)

Ranking Member, House Homeland Security Committee (2003-2004)

Asst. Secretary for Legislative Affairs, Dept. of Homeland Security (2003–2006)

Vincent Vitkowsky Partner, Seiger Gfeller Laurie LLP

Caryn Wagner

Under Secretary for Intelligence and Analysis, Dept. of Homeland Security (2010–2012)

Kenneth Wainstein

Homeland Security Advisor (2008–2009); Asst. Attorney General for National Security (2006-2008)

William Webster

Director, Central Intelligence (1987–1991); Director, FBI (1978–1987)

Ioe Whitley

General Counsel, Dept. of Homeland Security

(2003-2005)

Benjamin Wittes Sr. Fellow and Research Director in Public Law,

The Brookings Institution Juan Zarate

Deputy Asst. to the President and Deputy National Security Advisor (2005–2009)

To learn more visit:

annenbergpublicpolicycenter.org/dhs/



THE ANNENBERG PUBLIC POLICY CENTER OF THE UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA