



ABOUT THE SELECTION COUNCIL

Michael Delli Carpini is Professor of Communication and Walter H. Annenberg Dean of the Annenberg School for Communication at the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Delli Carpini formerly was Director of the Public Policy program of the Pew Charitable Trusts (1999-2003) and a member of the Political Science Department at Barnard College and graduate faculty of Columbia University (1987-2002). He is the author of five books, including *What Americans Know about Politics and Why It Matters* (Yale University Press, 1996) and *After Broadcast News: Media Regimes, Democracy, and the New Information Environment* (Cambridge, 2011).

Diane Deshong, a daughter of Leonore Annenberg (1918-2009), graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. She is President of the Los Angeles chapter of the Freedoms Foundation, a Council member of the Assistance League of Southern California, and a trustee of the Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands.

Vartan Gregorian is President of Carnegie Corporation of New York, a grant-making institution founded by Andrew Carnegie in 1911. Dr. Gregorian formerly served as the President of Brown University (1989-1997) and as a President of the New York Public Library (1981-89). He was also Tarzian Professor of History and Professor of South Asian history, founding Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences and Provost of the University of Pennsylvania. He has received numerous civic and academic honors, including over sixty honorary degrees and the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation's highest civilian award.

Kathleen Hall Jamieson is the Elizabeth Ware Packard Professor of Communication at the Annenberg School for Communication and Walter and Leonore Annenberg Director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania. She is the author or co-author of 15 books, including *Presidents Creating the Presidency* (University of Chicago Press, 2008), *Echo Chamber: Rush Limbaugh and the Conservative Media Establishment* (Oxford, 2008) and *unSpun: Finding Facts in a World of Disinformation* (Random House, 2007).

Gail Levin is Director of The Leonore Annenberg Scholarship, Fellowship, and School Funds. The ten-year philanthropic initiative (2008-2018) has awarded to date a total of thirty-six four-year, all-expense college scholarships, forty-seven oneor two-year fellowships in the performing and visual arts, and sixty-nine public elementary school grants. From 1991-2009, Dr. Levin served as Executive Director of The Annenberg Foundation, administering the grant-making program for its donor-founder, Ambassador Walter H. Annenberg, and his successor as president and chairman, Leonore Annenberg.