Annenberg Public Policy Center Scholars Receive Numerous Honors from the American Political Science Association

    Penn scholars returned from the annual meeting of the American Political Science Association, held in Chicago August 30 to September 2, with awards from four of the association’s divisions.

    • Talia Jomini Stroud, assistant professor in the department of Communication Studies at the University of Texas at Austin, was the winner of the 2007 Best Dissertation Award from the APSA’s Political Psychology section for her work, “Selective Exposure to Partisan Information.” A member of the 2004 National Annenberg Election Survey team, Stroud used data from the 2004 survey in her dissertation.
    • Diana C. Mutz, the Samuel A. Stouffer Professor of Political Science and Communication and director of the Annenberg Public Policy Center’s Institute for the Study of Citizens and Politics, received the Robert E. Lane Award from the American Political Science Association for her book Hearing the Other Side: Deliberative versus Participatory Democracy. The award recognizes the best book published in political psychology each year.Hearing the Other Side was published in 2006 by Cambridge University Press. In March it was honored by Harvard’s ShorensteinCenter with the Goldsmith Book Prize, recognizing the best academic and trade books that seek to improve the quality of government or politics through an examination of press and politics in the formation of public policy.
    • National Annenberg Election Survey Research Director Richard Johnston received the best book award from the APSA’s Race, Ethnicity, and Politics section for The End of Southern Exceptionalism: Class, Race, and Partisan Change in the Postwar South (Harvard University Press, 2006), which he co-wrote with Byron E. Shafer, Chair of Political Science at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Johnston is a professor of political science at the University of Pennsylvania with a secondary appointment at the Annenberg School for Communication.
    • The Doris Graber book award went to Professor Joseph N. Cappella, AnnenbergSchool for Communication, and Annenberg Public Policy Center Director Kathleen Hall Jamieson for Spiral of Cynicism: The Press and the Public Good. The award, given by the APSA’s Political Communication section, honors the best book published on political communication in the last 10 years. Spiral of Cynicism was published in 1997 by Oxford University Press.